Search Area

News & Notice

  • Home
  • News & Notice
  • Press Releases

Press Releases

MSIT to present policy direction to lead fusion energy development


The Ministry of Science and ICT (MSIT, Minister: Lim Hyesook) hosted a hybrid conference of the 16th National Fusion Energy Committee at Korea Institute of Fusion Energy on December 30 and finalized the fourth Master Plan 2022-2026 on Fusion Energy Development.

The Master Plan contains Korea’s Long-term Schedule to develop key technologies of fusion, with the ultimate goal to demonstrate fusion electricity production in the 2050s. If ITER successfully achieves fusion gain Q=10 performance around 2035, a decision will be taken whether to construct Korea’s ‘demonstration fusion reactor’. The decision will also take into account the status of key technologies development, domestic capabilities to procure major components, and potential economic viability of fusion energy.

In accordance with the Long-term Schedule, the government aims to lead the global endeavour to realize fusion energy by focusing on three core strategies.

First is to create specialized strategies and systems that can effectively support fusion energy development. This includes formulation of the Long-term R&D Roadmap as well as adjustment and creation of necessary legal and regulatory frameworks.

Second is to speed up the development of key technologies required to demonstrate fusion electricity production, focusing on eight areas. Korea’s KSTAR tokamak, which successfully maintained 100 million degrees of ion temperature for 30 seconds in its 2021 campaign, is aiming to sustain further up to 300 seconds in the next five years. Furthermore, the government will make strong efforts to nurture next generation of fusion scientists and engineers, and to help enhance capabilities of Korea’s fusion industries.

Third strategy is to reinforce global cooperation in developing important fusion technologies. The government will continue to closely collaborate with international partners for the success of the ITER Project, the major international project engaging seven Members (Europe, China, India, Japan, the Republic of Korea, the Russian Federation and the USA) aimed at building and operating the world's largest experimental fusion facility.

For further information, please contact Spokesperson for foreign media Kim Heehyun (E-mail:, 82-44-202-4027) of the Ministry of Science and ICT.

Please refer to the attached PDF 

KOGL Korea Open Government License, BY Type 1 : Source Indication The works of the Ministry of Science and ICT can be used under the terms of "KOGL Type 1".